In my Prankish Mood

A RETIREE WITH A SENSE OF HUMOR
Went to the PX today to buy some stuff. After purchasing what I need, I headed to a checkout counter. The cashier was a young lady who looked to be about 19 or 20 years old. She smiled and greeted me kindly as I put my stuff on the conveyor belt. After she rang up my items and bagged them, I hesitated to pay. I looked at her with a straight face and spoke, “Isn’t this Retiree Purchases for Free Tuesday?” Clearly in shock, she turned pale and stared at me, probably feeling embarrassed and super stupid because she didn’t get that memo. Her eyes glazed over and resembled jumbo marbles in their sockets. Feeling sorry for her standing there looking as helpless as a kitten in a cage full of hungry lions, I decided to end my fun and snap her out of it with, “Oh, I was just kidding.” She laughed as her eyes quickly returned to their normal size. She covered her heart with one of her hands as she blurted out, “Whew, I was about to call the manager. I thought I did something wrong.” No, no. You didn’t. It’s just me in one of my moods to make someone laugh today. A big smile came across her face as she handed me my bags and I went on my way. As I was leaving, she probably thought, “Those crazy Retirees. Gotta watch ’em.”

Author: Colorful, unique posters for any occasion.

I am a Retired Army Veteran and a child at heart having a blast. Web Site: www.cmetzposterdesigns.wordpress.com Blog: Cmetzblogs.wordpress.com Email: MAIOUI2000@YAHOO.COM

Leave a Reply

